First things I do when using Ubuntu Live

Those are the first things I do whenever I use Ubuntu Live.

Edit Text Entry Settings to match my keyboard layout

Ubuntu Text Entry Settings

Set sources

$ gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.input-sources sources "[('xkb', 'fr'), ('xkb', 'us')]"

Use $ localectl list-x11-keymap-layouts to list all valid layouts.

Set current layout

$ gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.input-sources current 0

current is set to the first element of sources.

Connect to my Wi-Fi network

NetworkManager GUI

Create a new connection using NetworkManager

$ nmcli -p connection add con-name MY_CON ifname MY_IF type wifi ssid MY_SSID

MY_CON: Choose a name for the new connection.

MY_IF: Use # ifconfig -a to list all the available interfaces.

MY_SSID: Use $ nmcli -p device wifi list to list all the available networks.

Set connection password

$ nmcli -p connection edit MY_CON

Set security protocol

nmcli> set wifi-sec.key-mgmt wpa-psk

Set key

nmcli> set wifi-sec.psk MY_PASSWORD

I assume that your network is using WPA-PSK.

Save

nmcli> save

Quit

nmcli> quit

Use the new connection

$ nmcli -p connection up MY_CON

Install some software

ubuntu-software-center

Ubuntu Live comes bundled with most needed software for everyday use, but I have a few extras that I usually install for my daily work. For that, I need to enable the Universe repository.

# apt-add-repository universe

# apt update

Decent media player and extra media codecs

Some YouTube videos won’t work without a H.264 decoder.

# apt -y install mpv

Alternatively, you can add the Multiverse software repository and install Ubuntu Restricted Extras.

# apt-add-repository multiverse

# apt update

# apt -y install ubuntu-restricted-extras

Eye protection

I use Workrave to remind me to take breaks and Redshift for adjusting color temperature.

# apt -y install workrave redshift

And then, run both applications:

$ ( redshift >/dev/null 2>&1 & ) && ( workrave & )

Code editor and terminal multiplexer

I use vim-gtk to have access to the system clipboard in Vim.

# apt -y install vim-gtk tmux

Secure my computer while away

computer-lock
Photo by TheDigitalWay / CC0 Public Domain

Change password

$ passwd

Enable the lock screen

$ gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.lockdown disable-lock-screen false